Preview: Coleraine v Glenavon

Game is ON after Pitch inspection at 11:00am

Glenavon travels to the Ballycastle Road Showgrounds for a Carling Premiership fixture against a Coleraine side unbeaten in its last 12 games in all competitions so Gary Hamilton will be hoping it’s ‘unlucky 13’ for Oran Kearney tomorrow. Glenavon have been boosted by two cup victories in the week, progressing through to the 6th round of the JJB Sports Irish Cup at the expense of Portadown and making it to the Final of the Belfast Telegraph Mid-Ulster Cup with a 4-0 midweek victory over Dungannon Swifts.

That midweek winning team consisted mostly of Reserve players with a lengthy list of injured first team players giving the manager plenty to think about. Jay Magee makes the squad but faces a fitness test on a foot injury and Andrew Mitchell and Gerard Rooney have earned themselves a place in the squad after impressing in that Mid-Ulster Cup win.

“It’s a massive game for both sides tomorrow. They are on a great run but last week’s win against Portadown gives us a huge boost which I’m hoping we can take into our League games. Although we have to re-jig the defence I am confident that whoever goes in there will do a job for me. As I said last week, Kyle Neill has played in a lot of positions and has never let the team down,” Gary said as he looked forward to tomorrow’s game.

“Andrew Mitchell and Gerard Rooney have forced their way into the squad with excellent performances in mid-week and, as I’ve said before, I intend to reward these sort of performances.

“With a Cup Final coming up next week Oran will be demanding 100% from his players, as he does in every game, and he won’t accept anything less. He’ll let them know they are playing for a place in the Final so we can expect a tough game. He’s done a wonderful job since taking over at Coleraine and he’s a great example to other young managers like myself and Spike (Ferguson).”

Coleraine have John Watt and Howard Beverland suspended having clocked up 5 cautions.

 Glenavon Squad

From: Cherry, Coleman, Doherty, Grant, Grieve, Hagan, Hamilton.Henderson, Jay Magee, McCaul, Miskimmin, Mitchell, Neill, O’Hare, Shannon, Turkington, Rooney